Nemesis: A Harry Hole Novel (Harry Hole series Book 4)

Nemesis: A Harry Hole Novel (Harry Hole series Book 4)

Posted by jack_miller | Published 6 months ago

With 1279 ratings

By: Jo Nesbo and Don Bartlett

Purchased At: $31.93

“Nesbø’s storytelling abilities are incomparable. Nemesis is crime novel as art form and great entertainment.”

USA Today

The #1 international bestseller from one of the most celebrated crime writers in Europe—the New York Times bestselling author of The Snowman—Jo Nesbø’s extraordinary thriller Nemesis features Norwegian homicide detective Harry Hole, “the next in the long line of great noir crime detectives,” (San Diego Union-Tribune) in a case as dark and chilling as an Oslo winter’s night. The second Harry Hole novel to be released in America—following the critically acclaimed publication of The RedbirdNemesis is a superb and surprising nail-biter that places Jo Nesbø in the company of Lawrence Block, Ian Rankin, Michael Connelly, and other top masters of crime fiction. Nesbø has already received the Glass Key Award and the Booksellers’ Prize, Norway’s most prestigious literary awards. Nemesis is proof that there are certainly more honors in this extraordinary writer's future.

*Edgar Nominee for Best Novel of the Year

It should be possible to pick a random book from a series and enjoy it without prior knowledge of the previous books. If the story is good enough and the writing is engaging enough it can encourage the reader to continue reading the books in the series from the beginning.

I have not read the previous books in the Harry Hole series. That's likely my problem with "Nemesis". The main character has no introduction. It is assumed by the author that the reader (me) has prior knowledge of the characters and prior events. But I don't. It would have been nice to know who the hell these people are and what their positions in the story might be. After several pages of cops sitting around talking about how little they know about the crime, a section in which the main character has a sexual encounter with a lady who is apparently someone important from a previous novel and several sprinklings of references to persons and events that took place previously, I gave up. I'm lost with this book. I do not want to have to read the previous books in the series just to make sense out of who and what is going on in this book. Note to Mr Nesbo: make your books capable of standing alone.

- Anonymous

It seems this novel is a signal that Mr. Nesbo is struggling to find a way of keeping Harry Hole interesting to us readers. Not content with having him solve murder cases that are mere mysteries, he resorts to a convoluted plot with too many characters and rather bizarre personalities. Two sets of brothers who switch roles? Subplots that questionably relevant? At least this time no police were killed.

- Anonymous

Early on in his relationship with Rakel and things are positive on the domestic front. All other parts of his life are firing on all cylinders, first with the main story and secondly as he looks for Ellen’s killer.
Nice plot twist to end.

- Anonymous

Jo Nesbo is Norwegian and Steig Larsson is Swedish and thus they are both Scandanavian, but that's where the similarities end for me. I first read 

- Anonymous

Jo Nesbo is a thoughtful and descriptive writer in the tradition of Mankell, Ian Rankin, Stephen Booth and other authors of complex and dark police procedurals that are as much about people and place as crime and punishment. There is violence and cruelty but also humanity and humor in his stories, whose complex plots are driven by deeply drawn characters--particularly the unfortunately named lead investigator, Harry Hole. Hole is of the familiar alcoholic, cynical, anti-authoritarian yet extremely insightful mold, a man who manages to do much damage to himself and many others on his disjointed journey to the inevitable successful outcome. He sees things that everyone else misses, makes connections that elude his colleagues and drives doggedly forward when all others are content to let things lie. Hole's problems with alcohol make Rankin's Rebus look like a casual weekend imbiber. Others have described the plot; let me just say that it is intricate enough to allow the reader to blissfully give up any attempt at getting ahead of it. Sit back and enjoy the ride through Oslo's cold and secretly murderous streets.
PS: Nesbo's books have been translated and released here in a baffling sequence. I gave up trying to figure out the correct order in which to read them. So I have bounced around in time a bit; my advice: don't worry about it.

- Anonymous

This is my first Harry Hole book and I enjoyed it very much.

There were times that I became confused because there were a lot of characters with similar names.

As is often the case when I read foreign books I found it hard to understand some things because the places discussed were ones I did not know.

And I did not really like the use of the hero always fighting authority, a ploy used in so many books.

But I kept reading and working it out,and I felt it was overall an interesting readable book. I look forward to reading more by Nesbit.

- Anonymous

Book 4 of the HH series was my favorite to date. There are several threads running through this installment. I cannot say anything was a huge surprise, but it was a clever tale and an enjoyable read.

I am becoming a HH fan and am moving on to book 5

- Anonymous

Jo seems a bit enthralled by Dirty Harry or maybe any American film featuring maverick cops. His narrative style is very accessible and strong, with only the personal nitpick of a feeling that I'm reading a television screenplay. That's probably unfair, as what I'm reading is several significant steps removed from that manuscript on Jo Nesbø's desk. That draft was then ground through the editorial staff of his Norwegian publisher, then his English translator, next an English editorial staff and finally the digital formatting staff. Too many cooks? No, just the publishing industry gets a bit more complicated with exportation. Nesbø is exciting, fun and addictive.

- Anonymous

Jo Nesbo at his best. It seems to be no end to the talent of this writer. It has been fascinating reading the all of the Oslo cycle of stories and then going back and forth catching up with the rest of his writing, new and earlier. Some of his books are very long but if you are patient you will be rewarded because of all the twists and turns and the unexpected surprise endings. Recommended.

- Anonymous

I'm normally a fan but this is nearly the most contrived mess I've read in a long time.The schemes, explanations and plot lines are so ridiculous that the essential 'suspension of disbelief' is totally lost. Some might be due to the translation but that is probably a tiny element. Really, this is a poor show and I will think carefully before buying another Nesbo novel.

- Anonymous

Absolutely brilliant! This book is so gripping and packed with excitement. It is, however, a very hard read due, I imagine to the translation into English, some not quite making sense and a bit difficult to understand, but that in no way distracts from the brilliance of the writing and the amazingly detailed storyline. Cannot wait to read more Harry Hole policing adventures.

- Anonymous

I can read and enjoy a couple of the Harry Hole books each year. The books are about an angst ridden man with a drink problem who upsets his superiors - just like most other detective stories - but Jo Nesbo is a talented writer. There is too much violence for me, and Harry's habitual problems become boring after a while. This is an entertaining, well written, violent book in which a cliche ridden detective solves the case despite no other characters having faith in his ability to do so. Anybody read a book like this before? But I say again, it is well written and does have humour in it, so it must get at least 3 stars.

- Anonymous

I read one of the later Nesbo stories a while back and decided to start from the beginning of the Harry Hole ones and so read 

- Anonymous

Customers Also Bought